The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year participating in the ADGA linear appraisal program. I will likely have five eligible does by the time we're scheduled to be appraised in July. I initially planned on taking the does I'm required to have appraised plus a dry yearling I held over from last season. Now that I'm filling out the application I am wondering if there is value in having any of this year's doelings appraised? Between the five does set to kid I would anticipate around 6 doelings this spring. They would be 3-4.5 months old at time of appraisal. Just curious if there are folks who see the value in dragging the little screamers along as well?

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
29,202 Posts
This is my first Year aswell.. I'm being a host herd so will have all my animals here... I will be doing a YSA on a buck kid and a dry yearling... The rest of the kids won't be 4months by the time we are appraised in June so I'll only have 2. I figure I have them here so why not? But bringing them some where else I may have left them home.. But it is also, I think, nice to hear opinions on your young stock too... Kinda a toss up for me... If you have the means t get them there, why not?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is four months the minimum age? I have a doe kidding next month and would love to keep a buckling out of her with this breeding so it may be worth bringing him...

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts