Is my doe prego?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by RPC, Nov 8, 2009.

1. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

I am really new at this. I goat a goat for my niece for 4-H. She loved it so much that last year I got her a doe and 2 kids so she could watch them grow and all that and housed them at my sisters who also had some boer goats. Well after being weaned my sister just threw the doe along with her doe in with the buck which I wasn't happy with but whatever. Now I have the doe and her kid at my house plus one of my sisters does. My sisters doe has had a clearish white discharge for about 3 weeks and I was wondering is she going into labor or is this something else. Doe they normally have a discharge for that long. Any advise would be great. She is still eating and very active so I dont believe she is sick at all.

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Welcome!

The discharge could be a sign of infection. Most preggy does that get a discharge will have a whitish sticky looking discharge towards the end of the pregnancy.

Since you don't have a breeding date it can make the wondering that much more crazy.Most of the time it's a wait and see type thing, like "wait and see" if she developes an udder or gets deeper and wider in the belly.

I am assuming that the doe is a standard breed since the buck is a Boer....if the doe is as well then she as well as her daughter can be pregnant. Dairy breed does normally have a "breeding season" from late August to February, with the exception of Nubians as they may be able to breed earlier and later than say a Togg, La Mancha or Saanen.

3. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder