The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is up with the (PTI) and (ETA)? I am new to the registered goat thing and I was looking up my new goats heritage. Unfortunately most of her lineage scores in the red on the (PTI) (ETA).

such as her DD:

http://www.adgagenetics.org/GoatDetail.aspx?RegNumber=D001444603

And her SSS:

http://www.adgagenetics.org/GoatDetail.aspx?RegNumber=D001511816

I have goats just for fun and milk. I do also with to sell the kids but looking at the history of the goat I do not think the kids would do well in the show ring. Should I sell her kids for showing? FFA? Should I even sell them as registered if they are not scoring well?

Why are people breeding animals that are scoring low on this index? It is a BS index? As you can see I have no idea about showing or registered animals. I will enjoy my girl regardless it is just a question of what to do with the kids.

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
If you look in the adgs handbook these letters are explained. The veev are very good, excelent, excelent, very good. The others are predicted transmiting and estimated transmiting ability which are low because the goats other offspeing are not evaluated.
Your goat probably is a good goat but could tell better with a picture

·
Registered
198 Posts
Welcome to the alphabet soup of registered goats :)

First of all, if you are hoping to make money back by selling kids in CA, you are probably mistaken. Some of the top genetics in the country are in CA and you will be competing with the very best.