Is my goat pregnant?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by kboo, Jun 4, 2008.

1. kboo

kboo New Member

Jun 3, 2008
    I bought my nubian cross at the end of March. She was running with bucks at the time. I had been milking her twice a day and then last week she just stopped. I tried for 2 days but nothing. Then I tried a couple of days later and it was just like water. I've tried feeling for a baby and looking at her bum like suggested in other forums but I'm a big time newbie and have no idea what I'm doing. Can I send a picture to someone that might know. Thanks.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ

3. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Welcome!! Just as Stacey said...send her the pic of her rear...if possible, tail up :slapfloor: Sometimes goats aren't as co-operative as we'd like them to be.

If you've been milking 2x a day since you got her how much was she giving you? I've not had a goat do that to me but then again, I have mini's, I dry them off by cutting milking to 1x a day and stop giving grain a month or so before they are bred again.

Also do you know how long it's been since she freshened(kidded)?...some goats will produce for a while before they would need to be bred again to pick up their production. If she is indeed bred, how long was she with the bucks before you bought her?

4. kboo

kboo New Member

Jun 3, 2008
    well I was getting about 8 cups a day. Then she got mastitis and the one side pretty much stopped producing and then she started slowing giving less and it was about 3 cups a day. She had a baby in Oct. I was told.

5. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    I bet you have a pregnant goatie on your hands and she will deliver within the next month - two months.