The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to raising goats. I have boers, 4 does and 1 buck. The does are about 16 months old and the buck is 11 months. I first noticed the buck mounting the does in February.
About 2 months ago, one of the does started to show signs of producing milk. Only one side of her udder was filling, but continued to grow in size until recently. Now it almost looks the bag is "deflating" a little. I felt her teats and udder. Nothing feels weird, no lumps or visual problems. She has had no signs of distress, is still eating and hanging with the herd. I have been checking her daily for any discharge or soft ligaments but so far nothing. I'm starting to wonder if she is even pregnant at this point. None of the other does have shown signs of udder development either. The buck was sniffing her the other day and acting like he wanted to mount her. Any ideas out there? I'm stumped.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Has your doe come back in heat? Any mucous or interest in the buck? I am beginning to think if the doe is close enough to mount - heat or not - the buck will.

·
Super Moderator
58,901 Posts
How long has the buck been running with the does? Is he still running with the does?

If you post back end pictures, some people on here can tell if pregnant or not. Make sure the lady parts are showing.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
[/url][/IMG]The buck has been with the does since I got him in January. I have not noticed her being in heat, but I am also a newbie. No sign of discharge. This would be a first pregnancy for all of my does and I understand that they should only have one kid with the first so they may not show much. The girls are all a little plump, but of all the goats I have, the only one that really looks big enough to be pregnant is the buck.
I will try to post pics of her here.

·
Super Moderator
58,901 Posts