Is there a wrong way to give your goat copper??

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by TexasGoatMan, Aug 11, 2015.

1. TexasGoatMan

TexasGoatMan Well-Known Member

Jul 3, 2015
    Dekalb, Texas
    My question is : Does it matter if you put the copper bolus down the throat or if you put the rods into some food substance and feed it to the goat ? Will feeding the rods to the goat harm the goat ?? I am new to carrying for goats and am trying to learn as much as I can ASAP. Thanks in advance for your knowledge and replies.

2. lovinglife

lovinglife Active Member

Jun 6, 2013
    Southern Idaho
    Nope, you can put it in any treat they like. I just cut thin apple slices and make little copper apple sandwiches, down they go, I usually have to give them several so they get all their dose, but they like that.

3. goathiker

goathiker I'm watching you Staff Member Supporting Member

Sprinkle mine on peanut butter sandwiches, they love them.

4. TexasGoatMan

TexasGoatMan Well-Known Member

Jul 3, 2015
    Dekalb, Texas
    Feeding Copper

I mixed the copper rods in with banana the last time I gave them copper and they ate it like candy. Thanks for your replies.

5. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine
    Alright then, just to clarify - because I've tried it both ways: Bolusing the goats with the actual capsules and trying to get those down unchewed (unsuccessful with my adults. They all chewed at least one capsule) is not necessary? It's Ok to just sprinkle the copper rods on a treat and feed? Or do you put the capsule itself in a treat? Or does it matter?

6. lovinglife

lovinglife Active Member

Jun 6, 2013
    Southern Idaho
    sprinkle and feed! New evidence that works just fine. Some may not agree with me but that is the only way I have used them and it works great.

7. peggy

peggy Senior Member

Aug 10, 2010
    B.C. Canada