Is this bad??

Discussion in 'Chickens & Poultry' started by Old Post Farm, Jan 10, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Old Post Farm

Old Post Farm Well-Known Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Middle Of Nowhere
    So this is my first year doing goats, I have done poultry for 6 years and beef cattle for two years. But here's where it gets complicated the poultry show is the same time (depending on classes)as the goat breed show and i want to see how my animals do and show them also. so i want to try to get third or worse for placings in poultry ( i usually get first or second not trying to brag at all) so that i don't have to show again. and my other option (and i really don't want this) is to not show poultry at that show at all (I will still do record pages and help set up). the reason i can't quit poultry altogether is because me and my mom are really close with the leader and one of the judges( we have a whole fake family) so it would really offend the leader of i quit and i don't want that. what i would do is wear my show whites with a bolo tie for the poultry show take the tie off and run right down to the goat show and check cleanness udders and clipping jobs . the fair isn't until august. so i am just wondering if sabotaging my self is really bad or what?

catharina likes this.
  2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Why can't you just talk to the leader ahead of time?

catharina and Old Post Farm like this.

3. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine
    OK...as a 4-H Leader, I agree with Karen. Please be politely up-front with everyone involved. Please do talk to both your chicken people AND your goat people. Chances are, they may have wonderful suggestions for you on how to divide your time and energy. Or you may find that for this particular show season you'll need to choose one or the other in order to do well.