The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
Most dairy does do need an increase in feed during heavy lactation...she appears to be in need of more groceries to go with that udder. From what I can see, she has a very nice udder, her build/frame however just doesn't seem to be correct enough to carry it... weak pasterns and very steep rump :( I wouldn't say she's starved, as you don't know exactly what management she does have... most don't realize that for every pound of milk a doe produces she needs twice as much feed to keep condition and production.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
I'm no expert but I know its hard to keep weight on a milking goat. Some look gaunt no matter how much food you give them. That said, this girl does look like she could use a little more food ration. She's putting out a ton of milk in a day. Maybe an extra scoop of alfalfa, beet pulp, kale or BOSS just to add some weight.

·
Goats of da UP
1,142 Posts
Her hooves don't look well maintained, from what I can see. I would venture to guess that she doesn't get what she needs, feed wise. Could even have a parasite load. But I bet with a drying off and some much needed TLC, her next freshening she would be amazing!

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
she doesn't look very well cared for..... her hooves look like they could use a good trim and she definitely needs more food!!

if you're interested in her, maybe ask for better pictures? it could be the picture is making her look weird...

·
Registered
979 Posts
If her feet are as bad as they look, she whole posture issue could be from bad feet too. She needs a trim and may have other foot issues...and it won't be able to be fixed all in one trimming, but with a good trim and some BoSe...she may be much less crooked all around!

·
Registered
30,646 Posts