The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to goats, 5 weeks to be exact. Ive been bottle feeding my boy for 5 weeks. I need to find him a brother. Im looking at one that is still on the mom. He is 12 days old. My question is this. Ive noticed he likes to lower his head and press on the back of my hand or leg. I guess this is head butting. Ive only ever come in contact with five baby goats in my life. None of the other kids did this. He is a little shy, but lets me pet him. He will back up sometimes when i reach out to him. He is getting better but I am not bottle feeding him. I think a few days of bottle feeding will change him a bit. My main concern is the lowering of head and leaning into pressure. Is this a kid to pass on? Will this lead to future butting problems? Thanks

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
That behavior from a kid is perfectly normal. I wouldn't really classify it as head butting but more of a lack of etiquette or demand for attention. It simply doesn't know what is acceptable yet. Like a small child throwing his food in the restaurant. Not necessarily a problem child in the making, just one that doesn't know he is doing anything bad. In your particular case it could even be fear induced.

For demanding kids who push their heads against our legs when we are trying to feed we simply bump them back with our knee. If they push again we bump them a little harder and maybe add in the "No" command. We don't make a big deal out of it and keep on with what ever we are doing. How hard the bump needs to be before they get the message depends on each individual goat. Honestly I had to think about what we do because it has become such a habit that we do it without thinking.