Is this possible??

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by Victoria, Jan 25, 2011.

1. Victoria

Victoria New Member

Dec 20, 2008
    Vernonia, Oregon
    My friend brought her young Nigerian buck over yesterday to cover my doe.
    I didn't realize how short he was till I got a good look at him. Hmmm.
    Well the plan was for him to breed my LaMancha doe.
    Well, she quicky went into season today, and gee, I do not know
    if this is gonna work...
    I have bred Nigerian bucks to large does before, but not sure bout this one..
    :ponder:
    So wattaya think?
    Have any of you goat lovers out there had a short boy 'reach'
    ???

2. LuvmyGoaties

LuvmyGoaties Member

Mar 8, 2010
    I'm not an expert on goats but where there's a will there's a way. I've seen mixed beed dogs where the dad was MUCH smaller than mom (Jack Russel Dad, Rottweiler mom) - the dad used a step to reach mom. Have the buck stand up hill from the doe or give him a bale of hay to stand on. From what I've read bucks are pretty determined. Good Luck. :)

Jen

3. TinyHoovesRanch

TinyHoovesRanch New Member

I have done this recently, my buck got a very large nubian so its possible!

4. Yup! We had a young fainter buck, and needed 2 mature does bred. We put him on the uphill side, and he now has 5 kids on the ground! :devilish: The hay bale is a good idea! If he is that much shorter? Good luck!

5. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    You might need to get a step for him...like a cinder block...and hold the doe for him. He should be able to get the job done with a little help. ;)

6. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ