The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. So there’s this tree right next to my fence, and I’m unsure what it is. Every app I’ve used to identify is unsure too.
Sorry if this is something entirely different, I have no knowledge of plants at all. Please don’t laugh.
Obviously I’m concerned, because yew is extremely toxic. There’s an electric fence between, but I’m still worried.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,920 Posts
No, shame in being concerned when it comes to the health of your goats. It is a very serious matter when their health is at stake.

It looks like it could be it to me, but Im not an expert on identifying trees/plants. I would cut off all the low branches and branches anywhere within reach of your goats just to be on the safe side.

Have you seen any yew berries on it? It could just be a type in the pine family, but I always like to play on the safe side when it comes to something as toxic as yew can be.

·
I'm watching you
22,273 Posts
It looks nothing like the Yew that is native to America. The bark is the telling feature.

·
Registered
4,120 Posts
I shall send a link to a friend who knows about plants.

And welcome, Fool! :)
Got half an answer: "Is there no photo of the entire plant? I THINK it is a normal spruce, but I need a picture of the whole plant, where I can se both the trunk and the twigs.

I would also like to know what kind of earth it is, and where in the UK you live."

·
Registered
275 Posts
Not a yew!! It looks like a fir or spruce to me. We have both on our property and the goats love to eat our evergreens and don't even consider nibbling the yews. We're slowly getting them cut down anyway.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Got half an answer: "Is there no photo of the entire plant? I THINK it is a normal spruce, but I need a picture of the whole plant, where I can se both the trunk and the twigs.