Judge these goats

Discussion in 'Goat Conformation' started by BBFarms, Aug 10, 2020.

1. BBFarms

BBFarms New Member

Aug 10, 2020
    Western NY
    Hello! I'm very new to goats and I am looking to start out with a nice small herd of Nigerian dwarves. My goals are to breed for better confirmation and milk production. But i'm a total newbie and have no idea what to look for, So i'd really appreciate your information. These are (I think) the best goats I could find in my area for sale. I'd love to hear all the pros and cons about these guys :)

Doeling #1 4 months old.
    IMG_4193.JPG
    Doe #1, 2 years old
    IMG_4161.JPG
    Doe #2, Also 2
    IMG_4180 (1).JPG
    Doe #3, 2 years old as well.
    IMG_4183 (2).JPG
    Doeling #2, This is doe #3's daughter and is 5 months old. IMG_4185 (1).JPG
    And the Buckling, around 4 months
    IMG_4136.JPG

2. NigerianDwarfOwner707

NigerianDwarfOwner707 Well-Known Member

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA
    I’m super in-experienced with judging, ask @MorningStarFarm .

I don’t like doeling #1, so young and already showing deficiencies, and a very steep rump angle.

Doe #1 doesn’t have the best rear angulation or body capacity, and may be weak in the chine, hard to tell.

Doe #2 just looks very straight and posty and I’m not a fan.

Doe #3 is my favorite, better body capacity, less steep rump, not the straightest topline but I could deal with it.

Doeling #2 looks like she needs to grow into her body a bit, but I like her too.

Udders would be very helpful to see.

Buckling is a little scrawny but I could see with some good groceries and growth him being pretty good looking!!

Iluvlilly! and BBFarms like this.

3. BBFarms

BBFarms New Member

Aug 10, 2020
    Western NY
    Do you mind pointing out the deficiencies in doeling #1 ? To my rather untrained eye i thought she was the better of the doelings, but then again I am still learning lol

4. NigerianDwarfOwner707

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA