The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While I am nowhere near new to most farm animals, I am new to goats. We acquired 2 four year old pygmy goats about a month ago. Their previous owner had them for about a month and decided she wasn't a goat person. All she knew about them was she had babies about 4 months old and they had just gotten weaned. She weaned them when they got to her house. So that makes my nanny goat about 5 months since her last kidding. She has constantly been with a buck. Since she has been here a month I know she hasn't gone into heat and she has progressively gotten bigger in the tummy but absolutely no bag whatsoever. It looks like a dried up, saggy bag. Yesterday I felt some movement in her tummy twice and I made someone else to feel just for verification that I wasn't crazy. So just by the pictures, what does she look like to you? Also I am not feeding her feed. Should I start? We do not feed our cows feed while they are pregnant as it makes the babies bigger and makes it harder to calve. Didn't know if goats were the same. Should I give her any shots or anything? I am just clueless over this. Thank you so much for the help! My goat thanks you too. :)

The picture of her skinny is a month ago the day that I got them.

Attachments

·
Registered
31,007 Posts
Gestation for goats is 145-150 days...Babies are carried on the right side and you can feel movement :D it could be she is close but not quite ready...Some does udder up a week or so before kidding and get that tight shiny ready to kid any moment udder 30 minutes before...each doe is different..just watch for all the signs