The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just curious from which walk of life most were from on here? Seems like perhaps some most people are going to reside in rural areas? Also how does one come to keep Goats?

·
8,492 Posts
I was raised on a cow dairy farm, after a few years of living in Colorado and Missouri, I am back on the family farm. We can't milk cows, so I went with goats- (too hard to get back into
cow milking- the old barns won't pass State milk inspections anymore). We are still rural- but the daggone city is looming closer. (half way between Cleveland, Oh and Erie, PA)
One goat became 3, and now years later a whole bunch! I milk between 60-85 depending on the time of year and how Covid effects the milk sales to the cheese buyer.
We had goats when I was a kid, I worked as a vet assistant and vet tech at a giant dairy farm in Missouri, so that plus my knowledge of cows etc. sure help with the goats- although, they
do throw curve balls frequently! (healthwise).

·
Registered
2,523 Posts
Raised in a small town in East Tennessee. One of my uncle trained American saddlebred horses when I was younger. Another uncle had chickens, boer and then Nigerian dwarf goats and rabbits. So was always around critters. Got older got my own horses, ended up needing goats to help clean up an old cattle farm we rented, then goat hooked on Nubians. Before getting my own farm worked as a vet tech and kept my horses between my family's farms or a short time I boarded at a friend's farm down the road. Had thought I wanted to be a vet until working as a tech foe years. The vets advised against it, it doesnt pay enough for all the injuries you end up with and can hardly pay back student loans. So didn't go into vet med. Love my critters. Downsized and bought a farm closer to my parents but still have a few goats, horses, LGD, cats and a German shepherd. E.I.E.I.O!

·
Super Moderator
32,237 Posts