The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to milking. This is my first year milking my 3 African Pygmy does. So I have a few questions.

Really only 2 questions.

One of my does had triplets. She is a strong milker. Keeping in mind - I'm talking about African Pygmy Goats - small goats. I get a quart every morning from her. My other 2 does may give me a pint or a half pint. Is the reason my triplets doe gives me a quart because she had triplets (and the other two had single kids) so she is just producing more because of the triplets or would she possibly have a milker breed gene in her contributing to her better milking?

My other question is one of my "other does" hates, hates, hates being milked. Today I got kicked in neck and chest trying to milk her. I use a Maggidans milker so I'm not too close to her - she reached out there to kick and consistently kicks off the teet cup. Is there a way to restrain her back legs?

I use a home-built milking stand for all my does. I built it from the picture of the wood stand in Hoeggers Supply catalog. Stand works great for other does - but Isabella - eesh.

Thanks,

·
Registered
7 Posts
Good suggestion Amy. I was wondering if you try and milk her by hand into a strip cup, or a big coffee mug one teat at a time. In time she may get used to the whole process and settle down. Probably a stupid question, but does she have plenty of feed while on the stand?

·
Super Moderator
58,910 Posts
Could be better genes could be the triplets or a combination of both as far as quantity of milk.

Your kicker may not like the milker. Have you milked her by hand?

I end up milking each teat separately and use a pint Mason jar to milk into.

·
Katrina
3,315 Posts