Kid conformation- opinions needed!

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by GloryBeHomestead, May 8, 2020.

1. GloryBeHomestead

GloryBeHomestead Member

May 3, 2020
    California
    5AE266BA-49BC-4725-9B11-8C34257A6202.jpeg CE153BC9-8D81-4F6C-B602-06FF838925C2.jpeg Hi everyone, I am really loving one of our NDG doelings that was born in February. She has the best personality and is adorable. But- we really need to make room for some more milkers.
    Her mom is sweet but small and difficult to milk by hand because of teeny tiny teats. Also, the momma doe is 6-7 years old (we were told). I already trained one old goat to the stand and I don’t want to do that again anytime soon! The Buck is a sweetie pie- quiet and keeps to himself. Even gentle with the babies! (He’s separate now to be safe). Makes nice babies I think but I’m a beginner goat lady. We were told he could be registered but the old owner couldn’t locate his papers. They were just pets really.

Anyway- I’ve blabbered on enough. Can some of you more experienced goat keepers check out our baby doe, Jasmine’s conformation? We were thinking of selling her mom and her as a pair and get a Nubian momma for more milk. But I LOVE this silly little Jasmine doeling. Do you think she is worth keeping? She is a sturdy, square little thing so far. Thank you for any help!

Last edited: May 8, 2020
  2. Morning Star Farm

Morning Star Farm Well-Known Member

Sep 26, 2018
    It is difficult to tell what they will grow into when they are young, and tough to see when she's standing at an angle like that but those bouncy kids can be tough to photograph! From what I can see though, the main thing she lacks is dairyness. She needs a lot more length. She appears to be fairly wide and straight though.