Kid help needed for a newbie!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by mkmjmom, Mar 16, 2009.

1. mkmjmom

mkmjmom New Member

Mar 10, 2009
    I posted this in the kidding corral, but I think maybe I should have posted here...I'm new to the Goat Spot! Thank you for any help you can offer!

We are brand new to goat ownership and need some help with our wether kid. We brought him home 2 days ago and haven't had the easiest time getting him to eat (since he was still used to his mom,) but it's getting better at each feeding.

1. He is about a month old, so I am wondering how much he should be taking at each feeding and how many feedings he should get per day in order for him to grow and stay healthy.

2. Also, how much grain and hay should I try to get him to eat? He nibbles at it, but won't take much yet.

3. Finally, I am a little concerned about his left eye. It was clear on Saturday, but yesterday and today (Monday) we have noticed a slight yellowish discharge and crust around his eye, and it is slightly puffy compared to his right eye. I am thinking blepharitis, but I really don't know. What remedies can I try, and do I have to get them from a vet, or can I get them at the local feed store? Thank you for any help you can give!

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    welcome.... :wave:

I deleted your same post from the kidding koral.....

What breed is the kid?

I usually have a creep feeder ..so that the kids can go into... at anytime... free choice hay /grain...the kid will eventually increase .... eating....

For the eye....
    Put on some gloves,
    Clean up the eye and remove the gunk .....
    Have you looked in the eye to see if it has a scratch or foreign object in there? Or any ulcerations?
    Check the 3rd eye lid....
    I would maybe put teramicin ointment in it..if it doesn't improve within a few days you may have to have a vet look in it....... :hug:

3. liz