Kid Pygmy not doing well. Help!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by HughesHobbyFarm, May 6, 2018.

1. HughesHobbyFarm

HughesHobbyFarm Member

May 2, 2018
    hello. I’m new to this sight but in need of help. I have two Pygmy buck kids. One is 5-6 weeks old and the other we thought to be about 3 weeks now but I think he is closer to two (owners weren’t sure of age when we got them). The younger one is not doing well. He has never taken more than 2 ounces in a bottle (but he is really tiny so I wasn’t to worried). Now he is refusing to eat, becoming very weak and lethargic. He doesn’t drink water and grazes a little bit. He is unsteady on his feet and has been “chewing cud” like crazy. I gave him a small amount of vitamin B under his skin and we have been force feeding him every 2-3 hours but after reading a few other posts I’m worried that might be making him worse? Can I feed him water in a bottle? What else can I do for him? We have been using milk replacer as I don’t have access to goat milk. Help please!

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

No water. Get electrolytes and feed him that for a day. Then get whole milk from the store. Get his temp. Under 101 and he needs to be warmed up before given any type of bottle. Get a weight on him.

Raynee Jensen and goatblessings like this.

3. HughesHobbyFarm

HughesHobbyFarm Member

May 2, 2018
    Update: he won’t stop grinding his teeth and his belly is getting bloated. Help please!

4. ksalvagno

5. HughesHobbyFarm

HughesHobbyFarm Member

May 2, 2018
    There is no vet that I know of that will touch a goat

6. ksalvagno

Try some baking soda. If you have activated charcoal, give him some of that.

7. HughesHobbyFarm

HughesHobbyFarm Member

May 2, 2018
    We got the bloating down. Pepto and baking soda with rubbing his belly. I’m still unsure what to do for feeding him. Do I keep him on milk replacer or switch him to whole pasteurized milk?

8. ksalvagno