kidding in the winter?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by StaceyRosado, Aug 3, 2009.

1. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I have to many does to have kidding in the spring (well to many because I get overwhelmed easily and my pen can only handle so many goats and the kids just make it overcroweded).

so I was thinking of doing a winter kidding. I have NEVER done this before. a couple years ago when I decided to do a spring kidding I was nervous as I have never done that before either but now I feel confident on that.

I know MANY people kid in the winter months. What do you do to ensure no frozen kids? what are the differences and how cold is to cold?

2. nancy d

nancy d Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    Stacey you know the importance of no drafts & dry bedding for kids whatever time of the year.
    We are usually kidding in Feb...sometimes with snow on the ground. Everbody does just fine.
    Hopefully Katrina will come on telling you about Alaska kiddings.
    Honestly I have come to the conclusion that kids do much better than we think with cold & acclimate better than in the spring when there are worms & cocci possibility.
    We never use heat lamps (dont trust them)
    The only "downside" is having to haul water.

3. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I am working on the draft part --- right now the barn has an opening that is 12 feet high by 4 feet wide... so without a door I am trying to come up with ideas to "close"it off I have some ideas. But the door may happen, but I am not going to count on it

4. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Stacey, my kids have always been born in mid to late February. Last year was the coldest ever, babies arrived in the single digits.