The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My nigerian dwarf goat is due June 6th, this is a first for her and me. She lives in my 4th stall in the barn 10X12 and has a large outdoor run. How big do I make her kidding pen? and I have another goat that she is completely attached to do I remove her when she starts? or do I just block half of the stall and keep them separated? and how long would I separate them after the kid is born. I am a complete newbie at this and could use alot of advice.

·
Premium Member
29,236 Posts
I only separate my does if I cant be there and they look close OR just after they kid. I find its more stressful on the does to be taken from their companions. I leave my does separate from the herd for up to a week depending on the moms bonding with the kids and how good the kids are on their new legs. Sometimes its only a day or two other times its a full week.

But I have a herd of goats -- when there is only 2 I usually find that the companion isnt much of a threat to the kids and they can all stay together.

My kidding stalls are 4X6 for minis

·
14,615 Posts
Mine all stay together till the very last minute. When a doe goes into labor, everybody usually gives her plenty of room.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much, I will leave them together then. Very excited and nervous at the same time. Just hoping everything goes well. My vet said usually first time moms only have 1 kid, have you found this to be the norm?

·
Registered
368 Posts
I had one FF this year that delivered a single and I had a FF First Fresher and she had twins all depends on the goat

·
Banned
5,944 Posts