The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I am thinking of raising meat goats and was wondering just how important it is to be there when they start having babies? I have a full time job this something I'm wanting to do on the side. I didn't know if needed to make sure somebody is around.

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
Everyone here makes fun of me that I am there as soon as they start to go into labor, I say I have too much money, time, and love to not be there. Most of the time I never have to help at all. My advise would be to make sure you purchase does that have nice wide hips and not first timers. I have a nice wide old lady that pushed my hand and a 9lb kid with a leg bent back like it was nothing, she is a for sure keeper in my books.

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
Newbie here. I am thinking of raising meat goats and was wondering just how important it is to be there when they start having babies? I have a full time job this something I'm wanting to do on the side. I didn't know if needed to make sure somebody is around.
Being there is very important as it can be the difference between life and death of not only the kids, but the dam herself. If you're looking for "something on the side", I would suggest you look into selling newspapers, avon, writing articles, or some other part time thing that does not involve living, breathing creatures that experience pain and can suffer. Just my .02.

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
Everyone here makes fun of me that I am there as soon as they start to go into labor...
I have never made fun of you for that, and I never will. I never leave for more than an hour or two when I have does kidding, and I always check them before I do that.

·
Registered
48 Posts