The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I lost one of my kids today. Now that I only have one I know I need to get one for her. How long can they go without a companion? Can I gets sheep instead or will she only be happy with another goat?

·
Registered
367 Posts
You really should get another ASAP, and another goat if possible sheep are a little differerent and usually won't play together as goats do

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
They were brother and sister. They are six months old. I am on the hunt now for another goat as she is crying and I can do nothing to console her. This is my first time having goats and it's not going well.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you! I just put an inquiry in for two bucks that are six months old and were hand raised like my two hoping it all works out. I would love to have the time to wait but I know I can't unfortunately as I'm not emotionally ready but i need to do what's right for her and not me.

·
Registered
367 Posts
A wether or another Doe would be great for her unless you plan on breeding, a wether is a perfect easy to take care of companion.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
That is exactly what I'm looking for I tend to like the Wethers disposition. My female she seems to have a mind of her own and we are not ready to breed any time soon.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
The vet was out Monday he had worms and anemia he seemed to be getting stronger and better with the iron supplement. To be honest I really don't know I can only assume it was the anemia. I did contact my vet today because I am now concerned about my female even though she was checked also. She is fat pretty healthy but is getting the iron supplement also as her eye lids are pale.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·