The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Are you saying the whole side that is larger is a lump!? If it is, it could be a problem, maybe mastitis. Maybe you could get some more pics? A little clearer and closer maybe? I'm no expert, but I think others would appreciate more pics as well, and be better able to tell you what's wrong.:)

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry for the pics. It is on the very back of her udder. Her sack looks ok and feels ok other than that spot.

·
Super Moderator
58,074 Posts
I would have a vet or very experienced goat person physically look at her. I wouldn't want to mess around with that. You don't want to make a wrong diagnosis and open it up when it doesn't need to be or something.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ty. Not sure what to do. She is very close to kidding and dont want to cause any stress. It is not causing her any discomfort. Thinking i might just let her kid and see what happens. She was going to be culled before this showed up.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Is it moveable kinda spongey feeling yet firm? It's in the udder and the skin moves around its? So it's not attached to the skin of the udder but inside. She is acting ok other wise?

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
She is as good as apple pie. Spongy yea kinda. It bothers her more from holding her than feeling of it or anything else.

·
Registered
96 Posts
It's 4:30 in the morning (I can't sleep) am on my phone so it's hard to wright but I believe this is mastitis I just rescued 2 new girls a few weeks ago one has lumps in the same spot like yours (she has it a bit worse then the other girl I have) i have been milking her out using peppermint oil and using (today) mastitis medicine she has had 2 treatments (total of 4 tubes) and it got much better but stopped because I ran out. This week I should have my dozen I ordered. You might wanna pull the kids if she comes down with it really bad.

·
Registered