The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new to goats (about a year and a half) and one of my does almost tore her hoof off and I have been wrapping it and cleaning it with diluted iodine and triple antibiotic ointment. I haven’t started the antibiotics though I’m not sure how much to give and how long and where to administer it at...help please

·
Registered
279 Posts
Hi. Does your doe have a fever? Is her wound foul smelling/ have a oudorous discharge? Fever is the main sign of infection. I usually don't give antibiotics unless I know they have a fever after getting wounded, but others might do things differently. I would also give her a shot of tetanus antitoxin asap; tetanus can easily enter through wounds.
Incase you need it, the dosage for la-200 is 1cc/20 lbs bodyweight. Personally, I would use penicillin first on wound related infection...la200 is broad spectrum and you want to save it for serious stuff/ Incase penicillin doesn't work. Dose for PenG is 1cc/15lbs. You can give both SQ. Wishing you the best:)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi. Does your doe have a fever? Is her wound foul smelling/ have a oudorous discharge? Fever is the main sign of infection. I usually don't give antibiotics unless I know they have a fever after getting wounded, but others might do things differently. I would also give her a shot of tetanus antitoxin asap; tetanus can easily enter through wounds.
Incase you need it, the dosage for la-200 is 1cc/20 lbs bodyweight. Personally, I would use penicillin first on wound related infection...la200 is broad spectrum and you want to save it for serious stuff/ Incase penicillin doesn't work. Dose for PenG is 1cc/15lbs. You can give both SQ. Wishing you the best:)