The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to decide if CoCo is big enough to breed yet. I'm very nervous about it since this would be the first time I bred one of my babies. All the others had already had kids before. I know she is alteast 9 months old probably 10 or 11. I got her and her mom Posie when she was still nursing a little but old enough to be weaned. She has reached the 40 lb mark and is having a fit to be bred. She hangs out at the buck pen with her rear to his fence flagging away and screaming. I've read that they should be alteast 40 lbs and 8 months old. Is there anything else like height or width or anything to determine if she should be bred?

·
Registered
30,656 Posts
Im new to Nigerians, but from what I read 40# is the min. you want them to weigh and also I read from Stacy that hip width is important too...sounds like she maybe fine to breed....hopefully some one else will chime in on this :D
Also if you scroll down there are threads on this subject you can click..

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
If she's 9 or 10 months old then she should be fine, but I've been also judging by how the doeling looks. I like to see them look somewhat grown up, and like they're close to mature in addition to weighing 40 pounds and being over 8 months. I've been very careful about deciding whether or not to breed mine at that age.

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
She is in love with my pygmy buck but if I breed her I want to breed her to my new nigerian buck "Romeo". He only weighs about 5 lbs mor than she does and is only a few inches taller.

·
Registered
979 Posts
She looks wide and deep...and well porportioned. I'd breed her.
She may only breed to the buck she loves though...so beware of that...

·
Registered
30,656 Posts