Lethargic goat please help

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Little Hill Farms, Jul 13, 2019.

1. Little Hill Farms

Little Hill Farms New Member

Jul 13, 2019
    Oregon
    I have been raising goats for a few years now and am learning all the time but this past year my doe lost her kids and I bought her a baby who had been abandoned by his mom and another who was just being sold as a young bottle baby. the one who was abandoned by his mom if named buddy and he never got his colostrum, had hypothermia when he was found in the snow and has never really grown. he is about 25-30 lbs. and a 5-month-old pure Boer wether. he has handed a possible CL infection that he vet treated he has had worms twice right now he has a cut on his leg that is swollen and infected (I am treating it and I don't think it is related). he has always been able to get out of everything and he just goes on a mission to find someone to love on him and if we are not home he goes and waits by the gate for me to come love on him and put him back. for the last month or so he has stopped coming when called and is less interested in following me but I assumed that was just him getting older but now I am realizing he is also kinda lethargic and his bah is hoarse and quieter than normal. when I was bathing him today he has the weirdest poop I had ever seen it was "stringy" all the beads were strung together by what looked like skin almost. I have yet to check his temp. I am worried about him the last he saw the vet, the vet said that with everything that happened when he was born he was surprised buddy had made it this long and I am worried he might be taking a turn for the worse. thanks so much for any information you can give me.

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

What country are you in?

3. Little Hill Farms

Jul 13, 2019
    Oregon
  4. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member