Little Bottle Feed Saanen has joint-ill

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Jen1674, Apr 5, 2020.

1. Jen1674

Jen1674 New Member

Apr 5, 2020
    Lanark, ON
    Hi I am new to raising goats and new to goat spot.

My family and i recently purchased 2 bottle fed female saanens. One is doing wonderfully while the other is having some issues including issues with her left front leg.

We took them both to the vet on Friday to see what was going on. He said that she has an infection and gave us antibiotics for both. He also gave the little one anti-inflamatory for the leg. He believed that the infection had moved into the joint and it would just take time.

Friday after the vet and most of yesterday were good. She ate more and was moving around more. This morning she seems to be back to favoring the leg and now the back one is also giving her issues. She can still stand just can't get up all the way without help.

Looking for some advice and guidance from those with experience. Still giving antibiotics and will begin massaging the knee ( both front and back legs)

Thanks
    New goat momma

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

What antibiotic was given? Baytril is the best antibiotic for joint ill.

happybleats and toth boer goats like this.

3. Jen1674

Jen1674 New Member

Apr 5, 2020
    Lanark, ON
    The little one was given Draxxin and Metacam at the Vet.
    Now we are giving them both Sulfadiazine/trimethroprim orally twice a day until the bottle is gone.

I am not sure if i should also be massaging the area or forcing her to stand more while the infection is still there.

toth boer goats likes this.
  4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Hope things get better soon.

5. DRgoatfarm

DRgoatfarm New Member

Aug 25, 2019
    Central Nebraska