The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
sister to goatszrule
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been showing cows for two years and am thinking about buying a dairy calf in the spring ready for show season.

If you have dairy calves for sale please give me a picture tell me the breed and price.

·
2,203 Posts
I have been showing cows for two years and am thinking about buying a dairy calf in the spring ready for show season.

If you have dairy calves for sale please give me a picture tell me the breed and price.
I highly recommend you attend a spring sale (breed specific) or fall sale. Specialty sales really produce a good crowd for good prices. Another good way is to contact local breeders, especially the "hot" families in your county for showing. Another tip is to pay attention to the prefixes of the cattle winning district and state shows if you're looking into something serious. Yet another option would be to purchase a grade heifer of breeding age and throw a good embryo into her if you have time to wait. Still another option would be to contact your state breeders association and get in touch with local breeders.

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
I just want to warn you.....pay the extra and go with a well known breeder. Many dairy cows can not conceive. Try and get a guarantee that they can breed.

·
Registered
145 Posts
I just want to warn you.....pay the extra and go with a well known breeder. Many dairy cows can not conceive. Try and get a guarantee that they can breed.