The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am stuck at home for the next few months so I was thinking that this is the perfect time to get a couple of bottle babies. I am looking at getting 2-3 Nigerian Dwarfs soon. Just wondering what advice you all can give me.

·
Registered
262 Posts
Only consider well known and experienced breeders willing to offer you support.
I just put a nail in my own coffin, as i am just starting out myself.

Cheap goats are expensive problems.
Don't buy cheap goats.

Even expensive goats can be diseased.
Don't buy disease.

What are your long term goals with goats?
Pets? Breeding? Dairy? Meat?
These answers will spur more questions and then advice from the users here.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Only consider well known and experienced breeders willing to offer you support.
I just put a nail in my own coffin, as i am just starting out myself.

Cheap goats are expensive problems.
Don't buy cheap goats.

Even expensive goats can be diseased.
Don't buy disease.

What are your long term goals with goats?
Pets? Breeding? Dairy? Meat?
These answers will spur more questions and then advice from the users here.
I'm looking to keep goats as pets

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I do have a few questions so far
How much space for pasture and for shelter is needed for 2-3 Nigerian Dwarf goats? Also when bottle-feeding at what age should kids have hay available to them? Should I feed grain? If so when and how much? What is the best milk replacement option?

·
8,181 Posts
Instead of milk replacer, it is better to feed regular red top whole cows milk from the grocery store. But, with all that is going on, milk may be in short if you go that route, put a pinch of baking soda in the first bottle of the day. (Not baking powder!)