lopsided udder

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by kristi, Jul 10, 2008.

1. kristi

kristi New Member

Jul 10, 2008
    Hi, I am a newbie raising goats, and I could use some advise. I have two nubian does that I think may be pregnant they both have recently started to develop udders, but one of them has a lopsided udder. Neither of them have ever been pregnant before. Is it possible for them to develop udders if they are not pregnant? And why is the one lopsided? they both look pregnant to me, but I am really not sure. I will post pictures tomorrow. Any answers would be greatly appreciated. Also, they are both about 18 mos old, one of them I saw being bred to the buck back in March, and the other one I'm not so sure about.

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Pictures would help out alot so that we can take a look. Also if you can get Cha-Cha pics - we can tell you if they are preggers or not. I will wait for the pics......

3. kristi

kristi New Member

Jul 10, 2008
    Here is the first doe, Meadow. She is the older of the two. She is the one with the lopsided udder. Do you think she is pregnant?

4. kristi

kristi New Member

Jul 10, 2008
    Here is our other doe, Willow. Does she look pregnant?

5. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    yes both does look pregnant to me

udder developement is also right on for a late July to august delivery if bred in early march.

Welcome to TGS :wave:

6. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA
    I agree (in my humble newbie experience), they both look preggers! Congrats! And welcome the TGS. Are you going to bottle feed the kids and milk the does? Or let the dams raise them? How long have you had the does? I had my Cashmere does for a year before I bred them...wanted to get used to them before I brought a buck in.