The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two LaMancha/Oberhasli cross 3 month old wethers and one of them is silent, and they are both sweet as can be, but for some reason every time i have left the barn for the past week or so one of my goats starts baaing his head off for no reason, i have thoroughly checked the barn for something that may be spooking him but i have come up with nothing, I am completely new to goats also so I can use all the help I can get.

· Dave (TDG Farms) S.E. Washington State
4,806 Posts
He loves you and doesnt want you to leave. Or he loves something you're giving him and wants more:) He will grow out of it... hopefully. We have a Lamancha doe who does it every year when we wean her kids and or hours before each milking. She has the most annoying voice and will be leaving tomorrow because of it. After 7 years we just cant take any more. So try to figure out if its anything your doing before he starts and if so, adjust it. Good luck.

· Registered
1,020 Posts
Ditto....what Dave said. Ignore it and they'll eventually learn it gets them nothing. If you go back when it hollers then you teach it they can bring you back to the pen. We go through the same thing feeding goats. The ones that holler everytime they see me get ignored till last while the quiet ones get fed first.

· Registered
299 Posts