The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some questions, I have a momma goat and this is her first time kidding. She has 2 babies and she feeds them on one teat. The other teat is swollen, red and or plugged. I had a vet out here and he said the goat didn’t have mastitis he just thought she had a plugged teat, and as long as the babies were ok with the one teat not to worry about it. But the teat got huge and so we were told we should milk it out a couple times a day, which we have been doing because if not it would make her hurt and by milking it would relieve her. She doesn’t act sick and no fever and eats and drinks fine. But today there was a little pink in the milk when my husband milked here. She has always had a funny shape bag even kind of lumpy looking when I got he. Not sure now what to do to get milking out of that teat or if I need to dry her up, Alfred the babies myself. Please help. Again I am pretty new at this. The babies is the first foe me..

·
Fair-Haven
4,730 Posts
Pics would be helpful here. My first thought is to put some warm compresses on the udder and massage. Get a mastitis test done. She could have mastitis, congested udder or just burst some blood vessels. Has she been tested for CAE? Do keep milking her out twice a day, every day. What breed is she and how much is she producing? You don't want to just dry up one side - you need to wait until babies are weened to dry her up. You can try taping the teat (not udder) that the babies prefer to get them used to nursing from that side, however don't do that until you get a clean mastitis test, as drinking infected milk could make them sick.

·
Registered
126 Posts
If your milking her on that side, I would think you would know if she has mastitis. The milk will have yellow chunks in it or be stringy and be kind of hard to get milk out of it at times, like it’s plugged.