The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just started milking Lucy on Tuesday. Yesterday she wouldn't let me finish milking her, she was really jumpy, so I put her baby on her and she was jumping all around for him too. I'm not sure if this is because now she is only being milked 2x's a day or if its the start of mastitis. I'm new at this. This is my first doe in milk. I am very clean. I have the milk stand away from the barn and clean her udder and teats with soapy water. I was my hands before I come out and wash them in the soapy water again before I touch her. I clean my milk stand after every use. Her udders are warm to touch but that is the only thing I'm seeing. I didn't milk her this morning because my kids let her baby in with her.

Sent from my iPhone using GoatSpot

·
Registered
31,019 Posts
give her a good look over...is her udder hot? is there hard masses within the udder..any blood, flakes, lumps in the milk? does the milk taste salty? or have any off flavor??

I have some who will jump and dance if their feed dish is empty...they have learned I will keep it filling it up lol

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The only thing on your list is hot udder. But I'm not certain if this is a normal hotness or not. She still had feed left in her dish too. I called Bucheit's and they do not have any testing strips or anything to check the milk, only treatment. :(

·
Registered
31,019 Posts
any redness?? you can use dawn dish soap to test...I buy the CMT (california Mastits test) its for cows..but it works...