Meet my fiber girls and their fluffy big brothers

Discussion in 'Fuzzy Fibers' started by Cwen, Jul 7, 2020.

1. Cwen

Cwen New Member

Jun 14, 2020
    Los Angeles
    Hey everyone, I wanted to share my starter Pygora herd. I'm a total beginner at this, so please bear with me.

[​IMG]

I received these girls last week, so we're still figuring each other out, though they are well-bonded to each other. It's just my husband and myself, both city kids who really only have ever had cats/dogs & a small hobby garden. We bought some land, and have lept full into homesteading during this work-from-home period.

There are 2 girls at 10 months, 1 at 5 years, and 1 at 7 years.They were sheared in April/May. Dewormed/deloused/vaccinated shortly before sale so I have 3 months before I need to top them up.

I also added 2 alpaca boys to the gang, one who is about 3 and one who has just been weaned at 7 months, unrelated. The older boy was bonded to the goats, and actually has shown me some incredible 'chaperone' or guardian behaviors over his little herd. The ranch where I bought everyone had a few alpaca as guardians for their various pastures and the flocks within, and they seemed wonderfully content and happy with their adopted families. Our older male positions himself between humans and his gaggle, and has wargled alerts when he hears coyotes or suspicious noises. The goats all follow him like adoring groupies, and the younger alpaca clearly loves him. The younger alpaca is very friendly, he was a bottle baby and has fond opinions of humans. The other 5 are sloooowly learning to accept human affection.