The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, Merlin's made a complete boil and bubble of things.

He got out and well...you can guess the rest...
Minerva, I believe got bred though when we got to her she had no outward sign (muck butt) of it. She was supposed to go into heat this past Tuesday but didn't. I stopped by my vet today and grabbed a dose of lute but I've never used it before and truthfully I'm nervous about it. I'm still on the fence about it. or just chicken, I just don't know ..There are risks with both.
The thing is...She's my little spoiled favorite so that doesn't help matters, and the fact she's our littlest girl besides our rescue Thalia just scares the bejesus out of me.

Stats: Nigerian Dwarf
She's 11 months old, 53lbs but small in stature. I'm at work so I can't upload a picture but can either tonight or tomorrow after sun up.

To make it a complete mess of things.....
I also think he also got Andromeda (Minerva's mom) who we were trying to give a year off...I'm not a happy goat mom with Merlin... Her, I'll let kid,... and then retire her to live out her life fat and sassy ...
Minerva though....
Opinions....
@Sfgwife @SandyNubians @happybleats @toth boer goats @Goats Rock

·
Super Moderator
82,111 Posts
You can lute them, if you do not want them to have kids.
Get it from your vet.

The youngster sounds small, as you described and I hear your concern.
I would lute her for sure.
She may have complications.

·
Registered
5,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
You can lute them, if you do not want them to have kids.
Get it from your vet.

The youngster sounds small, as you described and I hear your concern.
I would lute her for sure.
She may have complications.
I have 1.5cc's of lute in a syringe he gave me is it IM or SQ? He just had it drawn up and waiting at the front desk for me to pick up.
If it's IM where's the best place to give it?
What adverse effects should I watch for?