Milk testing!

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by eliya, May 2, 2009.

1. eliya

eliya New Member

I know you all probably wonder what happened to me. I did NOT fall of the face of the earth, but have been very busy with my goats. We had 36 MiniNubian kids born here this year (within 2 weeks!!!) and a lot has been happening. One of the things is milk testing. I'm really excited about this. Anyway, I got my first test results back from the lab and I'm pretty excited about some of the numbers. I'm still learning about what they all mean, but thought I'd share some with you. All the does tested were between 31 and 17 days fresh. I'd love to know what you think of these numbers. If you know of any websites that help explain what each number means and what is typical for a doe I'd like to know all that also. This is my first time milk testing so I don't know what is average.

Anyway, here are a few of the numbers:
    Misty did really well on butterfat - she had 5.56% butterfat on her first test this year (at 29 days fresh)! Her daughter (Raisin) and granddaughter (Grace) also had high butterfat - both over 5%. Misty had pretty good amount of milk for a 25" doe - 6.8 lbs.
    'Arthur' milked well in amount - 4.8 at night at 4.2 in the morning for a total of 9 lbs. Her butterfat wasn't bad either - 4.47%.
    Molly milked really well at 4.4 each milking for a total of 8.8#'s. Her butterfat wasn't really high - 3.4% - but usually the heavier milkers are lower in BF from my understanding.
    The other does all did really well in everything too. The BF for the rest of the does was between 3.74 and 5.17. Milk amounts ranged a bit as well. The first fresheners obviously gave less while the older does gave more. The older does all gave well over 5 lbs each. This fall I will have complete milk testing results available for each doe on my website, but just wanted to brag a little now. ;-) :cool:

Thanks for letting me share!

2. rebelshope

rebelshope New Member