Milker questions

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by miller4528, Jun 29, 2020.

1. miller4528

miller4528 New Member

May 15, 2020
    pa
    So i have been milking for about 2 months i made a DYI milker with the foodsaver handheld vacuum im not opposed to hand milking but mine are nigerian dwarfs very hard for someone with big hands to do easy plus my girls being first timers are little difficult on the stand but i also bought a Henry milker the nicer version of a break bleeder. Now it cam with a large udder cup and was supposed to come with an insert there is something attached but its still very large so i used the small syringe cup i was using for my other one but one of my three girls teat really gets stretched when milking i apply the same vacuum pressure to all them and they dont seem to even no its there but i was wondering if anyone had any ideas of what to use for an insert? only ones on amazon wont ship until august i use a syringe cup just big enough to fit the teat into i was just thinking maybe a liner might make it more comfortable for the teat or put less pull on it i dont see any signs of damage or disform on the teat or i would stop it just looks bad when it stretches it downward again its only the one and she had been milked the same time as the others

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

If what you are using is continuous suction, it will destroy their teats. You need pulsating suction.

Sfgwife likes this.

3. miller4528

miller4528 New Member

May 15, 2020
    pa