The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a fairly new got owner and I'm just beginning to milk our doe. So my question is; hair and hey particles always fall in the milk. I've filtered the milk but now i'm concerned about bacteria from these particles in the milk. Do I have to heat the milk before consuming it?

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
That’s where the great debate of to pasteurize or not to comes up. IMO, no I wouldn’t do so just because of that. As long as you strain it most of the hay and hair will not stay in the milk. Now another way of looking at it is, I’m not sure about you but I’m pretty sure I have consumed a great amount of hay and goat hair just running around doing chores and what not without me even realizing it. I’m still healthy ;)
BUT you do what you think you should do. It doesn’t matter what anyone says, if you would feel more comfortable consuming pasteurized milk then pasteurize it! If this makes sense to you and your comfortable drinking raw then do so. To be totally honest I’m getting ready to try my hand at pasteurizing milk this evening. I use a milk machine and although I try to keep it as clean as I can and go threw a lot of bleach I question how clean it really gets. My kids have also not been raised on raw milk and right now I don’t feel comfortable playing with it with the hospital situation going on. So whatever way you go IMO is just fine

·
8,066 Posts
You could clip your doe of any long hair. I shave the udder with electric clippers and trim any long leg and belly hair. Then, when she is milked, just brush off any straw etc. Clean the teats well and
milk into a small, sterilized stainless steel bowl, bucket, etc. and pour the milk into a larger container after you have a small amount. That way, if she should step into your bucket, you only throw out a small amount.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5