Minerals Keep Going To Waste

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Pronking Publius, Aug 29, 2012.

1. Pronking Publius

Pronking Publius Member

Mar 29, 2012
    Weston, MO
    I'm relatively new to goats...I've had four for about 6 months now. I've always supplied them with with loose minerals (I think they are Purina), but they never eat them. Periodically I dump out the minerals, clean the dish and put new minerals in, at which time I feed it to them personally and they love it. They'll all nibble at it right after I put it out, but then they NEVER touch it after that. I hang it off the fence, so it's not getting soiled, and it's not getting rained on. For some stupid reason the only time they ever touch it is when I put them out fresh. I know they never touch it cuz I only put out a little at a time, and it just sits there. If I don't keep constantly putting new stuff in and throwing the old, then they never touch it, and even when I keep changing it out the only time they do touch it is right when I put it out, just that one time. What gives?

2. Maggie

Maggie New Member

Nov 5, 2010
    Floyd, Va
    Ours do the same exact thing. They all fight over it when its fresh, then once its been there a day its apparently not good enough for them!

3. fd123

fd123 Senior Member

May 29, 2012
    macon, Ga.
    same here!! Maybe with the type of feed that we feed...and the browse thats eaten at our places are sufficent...????...Ive read and heard that a goat will eat what they need if available....

4. WillowGem

WillowGem Love them goats!

Aug 3, 2011
    Michigan
    Do you feed them grain?
    If so, try top dressing the grain with minerals every day.
    They'll get fresh stuff, and you'll know they're eating enough of it.

I don't have a problem with my boys eating old minerals, they're chowing on it all the time...fresh or old, they don't care! :wink:

5. LilBleatsFarm

LilBleatsFarm Premier Colorado Nigerian Dwarf Breeder

Jul 18, 2012
    Colorado