The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here...Could anyone tell me the cut out size we would need in our mini barn for pygmies to get through? Can't seem to find any info online that is helpful. We don't want it to be more open than it needs to be. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
I have a flap gate in my fence that I let up and down when I want to let mine in and out to pasture to keep from having to open and close the big gate. I have pygmies and Nigerians and a couple mixed goats that are bigger. And the 3 ft x 3 ft works great for me.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Great... That's what I needed. I didn't want it too big, but obviously big enough for them to always fit :) thanks!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Would you say that is on the bigger side or not? We are having the cut out put in side of barn and like I said we don't want bigger than needed but so that they fit. :) We won't have anything bigger than pygmies. ( I say that now ) lol

·
I'm watching you
22,273 Posts
Mine's 1 1/2 ft by 2 1/2 ft for my full sized goats. Even my bigger boys can get through it with a little squatting. (they don't belong in there anyway)

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
Would you say that is on the bigger side or not? We are having the cut out put in side of barn and like I said we don't want bigger than needed but so that they fit. :) We won't have anything bigger than pygmies. ( I say that now ) lol
My fat pregnant pygmies are usually wider than they are tall so I wanted it a little bigger. You could definitely make it smaller if ya want. :)

·
Registered
54 Posts