Mixed Emotions

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by RowdyKidz, Sep 21, 2009.

1. Yes

7.7%
  2. No

92.3%
  3. Maybe

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. RowdyKidz

RowdyKidz Senior Member

Apr 2, 2009
    NW Ohio
    I have mixed emotions on selling bred does, but i have someone who'd like to buy a bred doe from me (who would be a first timer) I'd be fine BUT he has never bred any of his goats. So would you do it? And have him risk it with a FF? I'd feel HORRIBLE if anything would ever happen to her. Why would you or why not?

So, opinions again, please? Thanks!

2. turtlebutte goats

turtlebutte goats New Member

Nov 22, 2008
    I guess I am not experienced enough to answer your poll, however, being a "first timer" with having goats, I always feel I can ask others for advice, read and of course find tons of info on sites like this. I am an animal lover, and have all sorts of animals, and would feel offended if that was the reason someone advertised animals for sale, and then decided not to sell to me. Just my personal opinion of course. :)

3. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    I have sold FF - however, I made the girls stay at the house until they freshened so that I knew everything was there. I talked to them about how I have rx meds on hand in case of an issue, I know the doe, I have the ability to be off of work and there with the doe, have been through it many times, and yada yada, and after talking with them - they were totally fine. I told the new owners that I would call when in labor and we were close so that if they wanted to come up they could and if they couldn't make it I was on the phone with them constantly and taking lots of pics.

I did this with 3 different does this year!

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA