More questons ????

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by kathyg, Aug 4, 2009.

1. kathyg

kathyg New Member

Jul 28, 2009
    :thumb: it's me again.

I am getting 2 female pygmies (as mentioned before :greengrin: ).
    One is 3 years old, de-horne and the other will be 16 weeks when I get her but she has her horns.

Firstly, I really would like the babies horns removing. The vet said he could do this. Is this a big operation for the baby ? Do people who buy horned goats ever have them removed later ?

Secondly, can I feed the baby the goat mix I will be feeding the adult on, or will it need special baby goat food ?

I realise for a short while I will have to keep them on the same food they had previously.

Thirdly, will they get on ?

2. yonderhill

yonderhill New Member

Jan 15, 2009
    Upstate NY
    Hi There... how exciting to be getting your new goats!!! As for the horns.. at 4 mos old you should be able to band them. I have not done this so I am no expert but I have heard from multiple people that it is a safe and effective means of horn removal (I am sure everyone will have varying opinions on this) It (for obvious reasons) can be "uncomfortable" at first but I hear after a bit the goats adjust and get on with their day.. if you do a search for banding horns you will find more info on it!
    As for feeding.. you can feed them both the same food. Our babies are raised on what their moms (the milkers) eat. And they are growing beautifully. Just take your breeders recommendations and switch the feed over gradually!

As for whether or not they are going to be BFF"s... Probably if they are the only 2. One being a youngster is helpful in the fact that they adapt pretty quickly to change. But goats are goats so you can never tell.. I have 2 does that did not get along until they both kidded now they are buddies.. maybe they are commiserating over nursing and diaper bags.. who knows? Goats are funny creatures.. That's why I :love: them!

Jennah
    Good Luck!