The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a doe that may be bred (I had a “wether” with a failed burdizzo on one side, so I am unsure of dates). I know she went into heat end of July, and I thought she went into heat at the end of August, but I wasn’t sure. I’ve not seen any signs of heat since.
Today, I saw this on her backside. Is it a mucus plug or just dirt carefully placed to tease me into thinking I could have my very first baby soon???

I am attaching two pics of her backside from today, and one from above (the above pic was taken a week or so ago). Any wisdom would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well she looks preggo. What do her ligaments feel like?
I've never done this before, so forgive my newbie-ness! I am feeling on her and some of my other does trying to feel a difference...all I feel is the spine and then the ridge of pelvis. Sigh.. I watched some more videos this evening and will try again to feel them in the morning. She's acting fine, eating fine, running with her herd all over the field.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok, I found the ligaments (I was feeling too far out from the bone). They felt firm. I took a few more pics of her side - between her black color and the dark skies from rain, it’s hard to see much. She seemed a little sunken near her pelvis - maybe. She was sold to me as NGD, but I think she’s got some Pygmy in her, as she and her sister have a “stockiness” to her that my “NGDs from registered lines” don’t have (these are pet goats, so I’m happy as long as healthy and friendly, but more of a reference for y’all on her baseline build). From my excessive reading in the last 24hrs, I’m THINKING that she probably did go into that heat in late August, so I’m probably a few weeks away from delivery...do you experienced folks agree?