The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I'm new to this site.. and I love it! I am new to milking and enjoy giving my family "home grown milk". But I have a question: my little Alpine doe freshend her first kid-buck on May 8th. I have let her dam raise him.. saving me the time from bottle feeding. (He is now wethered) I seperate the both of them at night and milk once a day in the morning. She has been giving me more milk than I expected for a little Alpine... just
enough for our family of 5.
Then after milking, I unite mom and baby for the rest of the day. Since I started milking her, the kid beats her udder up hard to get milk. I had wondered whether or not he was getting enough milk. In the meantime my doe developed a hematoma/lump just above her left teat that tends to be a little iratating to her when I milk her. Assuming the buck caused it due to how rough he is on her. I seeked advice from two different goat experts. One said to start bottle feeding the kid and start milking twice a day so as to prevent anymore roughness on her udder. The other said to milk doe out half way so kid does not have to work so hard to get milk. (minimizing production) Both agreed that her left teat needs a break from roughness.
I took both of their advice and tried 1- First time bottle feeding a kid that's already a little over a month old is a joke. Spent a long time trying to bottle feed him and he would not give in to it, but I did and ended up uniting doe and kid. Then, 2- I milked my doe 1/2 way out and realized if I continue to do this then I will need to buy a half gallon of cows milk to give my family the difference we need.
What do you all think and do you have any ideas of what I can do to give my doe's udder a break and hope to get rid of hematoma/lump before it turns into mastitis. (which I was told it could happen)
Any of your ideas given would be appreciated!

·
Registered
29,999 Posts