The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still a bit new to all of this forum business. You'll have to excuse me for not knowing all of the goat "lingo" yet :oops: My partner is working interstate for a bit longer, and there's only so much yammering on I can do to my family and friends before they get sick of all my goat talk...

Just wanted to share a photo of 2 of my girls, Cherry and Mai. These two are getting so huge that they have to take their time laying down & getting up - but still leap over my fences no issues :rolleyes:

My older girl, Lollipop, is also expecting :girl:
Will hopefully get a photo of her later today.

Attachments

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My folks are here to help me juggle animals so just giving a quick update. I've had some issues with my alpaca and Lollipop kidded today.

I wasn't expecting anything to happen for another week yet. About 8.30am Lollipop had 2 kids. I thought the worst because they weren't moving at all when I found them, but they made some noise when I picked them up. Little boy was able to nurse off Lollipop, little girl still has her eyes closed and could not nurse.

I managed to get some colostrum into little girl goat and keep her warm. Boy goat has since had issues trying to nurse so I have him indoors with me. I think Lollipop was worried because whenever he'd rest, she would paw at him and it was a little bit rough.

When the vet came out he said they're premie but that I might be able to keep them going with the bottle, and if they're able to they can go back with their mum when they're strong enough. They are inside with me and have had a couple of feeds - they only seem to have a few mouthfuls at a time so I'm trying to do that regularly. I've only bottle fed a goat once and it was a couple of years ago, I cannot really recall how much they drink as newborns.