The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading about how people water their goats in the winter, I was planning on letting them continue drinking from the spring. It's so easy and seem very natural and the right way to go. I can't imagine carring buckets of water, unless there was no other source of water.

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Sounds great, if your spring/creek doesn't freeze. Not all of us are that lucky...I wouldn't bucket water around if I didn't have to, believe me!

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
I think that sounds like a fine idea as long as the creek doesn't freeze. If your lucky enough to have a spring why not take advantage of it ;)

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Honestly, I wasn't sure if I was doing the right thing or not. I'm very new to having goats. I read a lot about people heating water.

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
If it runs through the winter and doesn't freeze, then I would just let them drink. A lot of people have heated so the water buckets/tanks don't freeze up.

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
Well if you ask me your doing just fine. The freezing is a good thing to watch for.
I do recall some where along the line reading about not drinking from streams or such. IMO I think some people shelter their goats way too much and in the long run is asking for health problems. As long as its not a nasty pond full of run off poop or so.etching like that its just fine.

·
8,157 Posts
Heated buckets in the winter- no clean running water near the goats. We live on a river, but I wouldn't drink my goats milk if
they drank that water! You are fortunate to have a clean running spring.

·
1,524 Posts
The only spring I have comes up in the spring and (wet) summer- right in the middle of the goat stall. It wasn't there when we built the barn, but popped up last summer. Sure can't drink out of that!

You are so lucky! I have to haul mine from the kitchen in buckets all winter long.

·