The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm very new to goat raising. Out the back of a horse property I manage we found this female kid, next to her dead mum (shot, illegally because she was on our private property, but its legal to shoot feral goats here). The rest of the herd was no where to be seen. We easily caught said kid (her name is Fee now) because she would only run on three legs.
She seemed a good weight so she was clearly able to keep up with the rest.
We've had this goat nearly 2 weeks now and there has been no sign of improvement coming from this leg - its now half the size of her left one as its underdeveloped. Ive seen her try to use it to scratch her face and it just vibrates at most, its as if she has no motor control over it. It bends, all the joints work in it, and i can move the leg for her but it certain ways she cries, so sometimes it hurts her and she feels that pain.

Also I'm feeding her human organic goats milk (through a nip when im home and in a bowl when im not), providing her with water in a bowl (which she occasionally drinks from) and hay (which i feel shes only nibbling on it to cure her boredom). her weight has maintained since we've had her, shes drinking a fair amount of milk but seems slightly constipated.

any advice on what i can do about the leg? Trying to avoid taking her to a vet as I dont have money to be spending on feral goats. I'll raise her best I can and she can live with my sheep when shes ready but I dont have excess money to spend on her.
in terms of her age, when we found her her umbilical cord was still attached, about 5cm in length and completely dried up. its now about 3cm in length but still there dried up.
located Victoria, Australia.

thank you in advance for your help,
Bella

·
Registered
3,990 Posts
Welcome to the forum! It sounds like some kind of nerve damage to me.

·
Registered
2,961 Posts