My possibly preggy ND has clumpy poop. What do I do?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by jenfrank, Aug 26, 2009.

1. jenfrank

jenfrank New Member

Aug 23, 2009
    My ND, Carmella, (the one that's "5 weeks overdue" LOL) has started having clumpy poop over the past week or so. At first I just thought is was from foraging after it rained, but it has continued. I know there are concerns about worming during parts of or all of pregnancy, and since she could be anywhere from 5 weeks to 5 months pregnant, if at all, I don't know what to do about worming... also, I'm not sure about vaccinations either. I'm new to this and don't want to do anything (or not do anything) that could be harmful to her.

Also, I've been studying up on the "pooch test" thing, and I swear her rear end looks different at different times... Do cows and llamas give their owners this much grief about whether or not they're pregnant??? I think I'm starting to feel pregnant FOR her! :help: Lastly, at least for now :wink: , I felt her udder this morning and while it's small, it does feel like it's got some milk in there and not just hanging down from her last kidding (which was about a year ago). This newby would REALLY appreciate some advice. I'm about to go to our Farmers Assoc. to pick up supplies, and don't really know what to get. At this point I don't want to buy anymore kidding supplies (I do have lime to clean the shed, fresh straw and iodine. :GAAH: )

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Ok as for the clumpy poop, that is from extra protein. Have you changed her feed? Introduced her to a newer pasture? I would not worry. I do not mind the clumpy poop it is the loose loose stuff or the hard stuff I worry about.