Myotonic breeder ?

Discussion in 'Goats For Sale' started by crowe, Dec 16, 2009.

1. Does anyone know of a myotonic breeder near North Carolina or South Carolina ?

I am new with goats and am raising Nigerian Dwarfs which I LOVE,LOVE, LOVE. My son is interested in the myotonics.
    Can someone tell me a little more about them ? I like the small size of Nigerians, so we don't want big goats.
    Are they big? Is the care of them different than Nigerians ? Are they used for meat ?
    Not sure yet if this type is good 4 us ?
    Trying to learn a little here.....

2. myfainters

myfainters New Member

Oct 29, 2009
    Lancaster, CA
    Hi there Paula,

I love fainters. They are so docile and sweet... with a natural affection for humans. :- ) They are easy on fences (even the bucks) their myotonia keeps them from climbing. Fainters vary in size... so find a breeder that breeds small to medium sized fainters (17-24 in. at the withers) The large type generally range from 25-28 in. at the withers. They are a meat goat breed and their meat is more tender than other meat breeds due to the myotonia. Go to the MGR website breeders directory for breeders in your area. www.myotonicgoatregistry.net I believe Happy Valley Farms is in N. Carolina and they raise the minis... plus they socialize their animals so you will get a "pet" personality. :- )

Hope that helps and Merry Christmas!

Jess
    Faint-Hearted Ranch
    www.faintheartedranch.net

3. Thanks alot,
    I really appreciate the help.

Can myotonics be in the same fenced area as nigerians ? or would they need a seperate fenced area ?

Paula