Need Advice ASAP!!! Please Read!!!

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by KW Farms, Jul 16, 2008.

1. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    Took some kids to the vet today to be dehorned...brought them back this evening. One of the does will not let her buckling nurse! He tried numerous times to go and nurse and she growls and tries to butt him! He is only 3 weeks! I don't know what to do. Gosh, I feel so bad for the little guy right now!!! Need some advice and soon! Any suggestions???

2. alyssa_romine

alyssa_romine Breaking Dawn Ranch

Oct 4, 2007
    arkansas
    I am no expert but it may be the smell of the disbudding that is making her act this way. Maybe put some vet rx in her nose, pepermint oil....something with a strong smell to mask the smell of the disbudding.

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    first off I would jsut hold the doe to let him nurse. Put her on a milking stand to hold her head then if you have to raise her legs in the air so that she cant lay down. Her buckling should come up to eat, if not have someone bring the boy over to eat.

She is not happy with the smell of him both the disbudding plus the vets office and the car, it all is confusing her. if he was older (which would be to old to disbud I know) i would say let her sort it out but since he is so young I would make her nurse him. Is she a first timer?

4. KW Farms

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    Not quite sure if this was her first kidding or not, I believe it might have been though. Thanks for the suggestions so far guys!

5. cjpup

cjpup New Member

Dec 1, 2007
    TX
    I agree with the other 2. There is no reason to be angry with her, the buckling just doesnt smell like her baby. Hold her to let him nurse and then just wait a little while. The smell of all the handling and new things the buckling was involved with will wear off soon enough.

Cj

6. KW Farms

Jun 21, 2008